Hot Best Seller

Rise of the Halfling King

Availability: Ready to download

Sayam has always been different from other kids: he was born from an egg! His grandmother, a witch, teaches him the ancient magic she uses to help her people. So when a giant snake starts terrorizing a nearby city, Sayam steps into action. But the ruthless King Kinich Kak Ek sees Sayam as a threat to his throne. Prophecy declares that whoever succeeds at three impossible t Sayam has always been different from other kids: he was born from an egg! His grandmother, a witch, teaches him the ancient magic she uses to help her people. So when a giant snake starts terrorizing a nearby city, Sayam steps into action. But the ruthless King Kinich Kak Ek sees Sayam as a threat to his throne. Prophecy declares that whoever succeeds at three impossible tests will be king. Monstrous snakes and impossible tests are a lot for a boy to handle, but Sayam is brave and has a loyal monkey, a wise grandmother, and magical knowledge on his side. Middle-grade graphic novel adaptation of the Maya myth "The Dwarf King of Uxmal."


Compare

Sayam has always been different from other kids: he was born from an egg! His grandmother, a witch, teaches him the ancient magic she uses to help her people. So when a giant snake starts terrorizing a nearby city, Sayam steps into action. But the ruthless King Kinich Kak Ek sees Sayam as a threat to his throne. Prophecy declares that whoever succeeds at three impossible t Sayam has always been different from other kids: he was born from an egg! His grandmother, a witch, teaches him the ancient magic she uses to help her people. So when a giant snake starts terrorizing a nearby city, Sayam steps into action. But the ruthless King Kinich Kak Ek sees Sayam as a threat to his throne. Prophecy declares that whoever succeeds at three impossible tests will be king. Monstrous snakes and impossible tests are a lot for a boy to handle, but Sayam is brave and has a loyal monkey, a wise grandmother, and magical knowledge on his side. Middle-grade graphic novel adaptation of the Maya myth "The Dwarf King of Uxmal."

30 review for Rise of the Halfling King

  1. 4 out of 5

    Danielle Booey

    A graphic series adaptation of Feathered Serpent, Dark Heart of the Sky by David Bowles leads to a really cool look at a Mesoamerican myth. In this volume King Sayam and the prophecy that led to him taking the throne of Uxmal and ushering in peace. I love the art and getting to see own voices myths and legends of Mesoamerica is extra special. I'm really looking forward to the next several volumes by David Bowles. A graphic series adaptation of Feathered Serpent, Dark Heart of the Sky by David Bowles leads to a really cool look at a Mesoamerican myth. In this volume King Sayam and the prophecy that led to him taking the throne of Uxmal and ushering in peace. I love the art and getting to see own voices myths and legends of Mesoamerica is extra special. I'm really looking forward to the next several volumes by David Bowles.

  2. 4 out of 5

    Dan

    I really enjoyed Rise of the Halfling King. I will look forward to purchasing the rest of this ten book graphic novel series as it becomes available from Cinco Puntos Press.

  3. 4 out of 5

    Sara

    A comic version of a Mayan legend about a boy born from an egg who must outsmart a tyrannical king, this first installment of a planned series falters by relying too heavily on text boxes instead of allowing the graphic format to tell the story. 2/5

  4. 5 out of 5

    Gabi ❀

    ________ This book was kindly provided to me as an ARC by the author (Edelweiss+) in exchange for an honest review. The opinions are all my own. ________ Even though this is an artistic adaptation of a myth that I have not heard of before, I enjoyed The Rise of The Halfling King because it delivers some of the things I like the most in this books world: fantasy, mythology, art and a touch of sensitiveness. It's an adventure packed with coming-of-age heroes, mesoamerican roots being explored and a g ________ This book was kindly provided to me as an ARC by the author (Edelweiss+) in exchange for an honest review. The opinions are all my own. ________ Even though this is an artistic adaptation of a myth that I have not heard of before, I enjoyed The Rise of The Halfling King because it delivers some of the things I like the most in this books world: fantasy, mythology, art and a touch of sensitiveness. It's an adventure packed with coming-of-age heroes, mesoamerican roots being explored and a general respect and appreciation that is essential when dealing with ancient mythology and children's literature. Art and design are excellent, very cute yet sober enough to represent divinities and sacred details, charming children and enthusiasts of Maya culture. ________ Overall rating: 4/5 Device used: Kindle Paperwhite 10G Language: English, basic level of ESL Reader's discretion is advised: no, this is family friendly and appropriated for all ages ________

  5. 5 out of 5

    Emily

    Solid enough to purchase for my library’s collection. The first in an intended series of ten graphic novels telling old tales from the indigenous cultures of Mesoamerica. Each will feature a different illustrator—I liked this one’s style and palette a lot. It’s hard to imagine investing in all ten—I’m not convinced kids are attracted to these graphic retellings, as Gamayun Tales (which I liked better—didn’t have great circ at my library. The publishers compare them to Rick Riordan (and friends), Solid enough to purchase for my library’s collection. The first in an intended series of ten graphic novels telling old tales from the indigenous cultures of Mesoamerica. Each will feature a different illustrator—I liked this one’s style and palette a lot. It’s hard to imagine investing in all ten—I’m not convinced kids are attracted to these graphic retellings, as Gamayun Tales (which I liked better—didn’t have great circ at my library. The publishers compare them to Rick Riordan (and friends), but it’s not an accurate comparison: those mix “real life” with myth and contain both lots of action and humor. This is mellow, a straightforward telling of a folk tale, not without excitement, but not with much (beyond an awesome-looking underworld serpent). Reviewed from a digital ARC provided by #edelweiss.

  6. 5 out of 5

    Stephen Andes

    I really loved this graphic version of the Maya halfling king. I found myself smiling at several points. Both David Bowles' script and Charlene Bowles' illustrations will delight young and old alike. I also plan to assign it to my Mexican History students in future semesters. Bowles has managed to translate (both literally and figuratively) the folklore of the Maya into contemporary storytelling idioms that will stick with young readers, and students unfamiliar with the lore of ancient Mesoameri I really loved this graphic version of the Maya halfling king. I found myself smiling at several points. Both David Bowles' script and Charlene Bowles' illustrations will delight young and old alike. I also plan to assign it to my Mexican History students in future semesters. Bowles has managed to translate (both literally and figuratively) the folklore of the Maya into contemporary storytelling idioms that will stick with young readers, and students unfamiliar with the lore of ancient Mesoamerica. Highly recommended.

  7. 4 out of 5

    Maeve

    Set in the Yucatan Peninsula thousands of years ago, an evil king has taken over the cities surrounding Uxmal. The king outlawed magic, which forced Almah (a witch who was given a magic stone from the Elfin Aluxes) to stop practicing. In her old age, she wishes for a family...and comes across an egg, which hatches a halfling boy, whom she names Sayam. He grows up learning magic and eventually overthrows the evil king. Could be a good read-alike for The Witch Boy by Molly Ostertag.

  8. 4 out of 5

    Iris

    First of ten graphic novel adaptations of the myths in David Bowles's "Feathered Serpent, Dark Heart of Sky," this series has hit the ground running with "Rise of the Halfling King." A book about a boy who hatched from an egg and went on to defeat the cruel king of Uxmal, it is a fun and engaging fantasy that will be loved by middle grade readers interested in mythology. First of ten graphic novel adaptations of the myths in David Bowles's "Feathered Serpent, Dark Heart of Sky," this series has hit the ground running with "Rise of the Halfling King." A book about a boy who hatched from an egg and went on to defeat the cruel king of Uxmal, it is a fun and engaging fantasy that will be loved by middle grade readers interested in mythology.

  9. 4 out of 5

    Kathy

    Mayan folk tale with echoes of MacBeth and Greek myths: a seemingly impossible prophecy about a "man not born of woman" taking over, the a destructive snake from the underworld, witches, and an evil king. I liked the author's note at the end about how the Mayan system of writing was heavily dependent on pictures as well as words, just like a graphic novel today. Mayan folk tale with echoes of MacBeth and Greek myths: a seemingly impossible prophecy about a "man not born of woman" taking over, the a destructive snake from the underworld, witches, and an evil king. I liked the author's note at the end about how the Mayan system of writing was heavily dependent on pictures as well as words, just like a graphic novel today.

  10. 5 out of 5

    Edward Sullivan

    A middle-grade graphic novel adaptation of the Maya myth "The Dwarf King of Uxmal." This is the first of ten graphic novels David Bowles is adapting from his work of Mesoamerican mythology Feathered Serpent, Dark Heart of Sky (2018). A middle-grade graphic novel adaptation of the Maya myth "The Dwarf King of Uxmal." This is the first of ten graphic novels David Bowles is adapting from his work of Mesoamerican mythology Feathered Serpent, Dark Heart of Sky (2018).

  11. 4 out of 5

    Amanda [Novel Addiction]

    Interesting! I'm definitely looking forward to more in this series. Interesting! I'm definitely looking forward to more in this series.

  12. 5 out of 5

    Jenn

    Fun retelling of little known myths are my jam. I love how the author explains the history of storytelling through pictures which is part of his (and many) cultures. More, please!

  13. 4 out of 5

    Andréa

    Note: I accessed a digital review copy of this book through Edelweiss.

  14. 5 out of 5

    Lisa Kizer

    Is this going to be a series about Mayan legends and such? I would really love that. Great to see that non-Western mythology is now getting it due. BTW the artwork is beautiful.

  15. 5 out of 5

    Erin

    Sweet. Good for fairly early middle grade. More multicultural mythology adventures please!

  16. 5 out of 5

    Emily Carlyn

    Really enjoyed this magical graphic novel.

  17. 5 out of 5

    Karin

    Very happy that this starts a new series of middle grade graphic novel adaptations of stories previously collected in an anthology.

  18. 5 out of 5

    Molly

  19. 5 out of 5

    Alexandra Butterworth

  20. 4 out of 5

    Caroline

  21. 5 out of 5

    Stephani

  22. 4 out of 5

    Zinnia Bayardo

  23. 5 out of 5

    Kathryn

  24. 4 out of 5

    Jennifer

  25. 5 out of 5

    Amy Formanski Duffy

  26. 5 out of 5

    Sunday Taylor Nelson

  27. 4 out of 5

    Mao

  28. 5 out of 5

    Katy Punch

  29. 4 out of 5

    Chari

  30. 4 out of 5

    LeeAnn Jennings

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading...
We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.