Hot Best Seller

A Spoonful of Frogs

Availability: Ready to download

Frogs are the most important ingredient in a witch’s favorite treat—but they are also the hardest to get into the cauldron! From acclaimed author Casey Lyall and Caldecott Honor artist Vera Brosgol, A Spoonful of Frogs is a humorous and wholly original picture book—and a winning recipe for readers who loved Dragons Love Tacos and Room on the Broom. A witch’s favorite treat Frogs are the most important ingredient in a witch’s favorite treat—but they are also the hardest to get into the cauldron! From acclaimed author Casey Lyall and Caldecott Honor artist Vera Brosgol, A Spoonful of Frogs is a humorous and wholly original picture book—and a winning recipe for readers who loved Dragons Love Tacos and Room on the Broom. A witch’s favorite treat is frog soup. Luckily, it’s healthy and easy to make. To give it that extra kick and a pop of color, the key ingredient is a spoonful of frogs. But how do you keep the frogs on the spoon? They hop, they leap, they hide . . . and they escape. What is a poor witch to do? Casey Lyall is a master of comedic timing with her deceptively simple and energetic text, and Caldecott Honor winnerVera Brosgol’s vibrant, hilarious illustrations make the witch—and the frogs!—practically leap off the page. The solution to the witch’s dilemma will surprise and delight young readers and their parents alike. Teeming with laugher and hijinks, A Spoonful of Frogs is pure fun from beginning to end. A must-have for young readers, parents, witches, frog-lovers, and aspiring chefs.


Compare

Frogs are the most important ingredient in a witch’s favorite treat—but they are also the hardest to get into the cauldron! From acclaimed author Casey Lyall and Caldecott Honor artist Vera Brosgol, A Spoonful of Frogs is a humorous and wholly original picture book—and a winning recipe for readers who loved Dragons Love Tacos and Room on the Broom. A witch’s favorite treat Frogs are the most important ingredient in a witch’s favorite treat—but they are also the hardest to get into the cauldron! From acclaimed author Casey Lyall and Caldecott Honor artist Vera Brosgol, A Spoonful of Frogs is a humorous and wholly original picture book—and a winning recipe for readers who loved Dragons Love Tacos and Room on the Broom. A witch’s favorite treat is frog soup. Luckily, it’s healthy and easy to make. To give it that extra kick and a pop of color, the key ingredient is a spoonful of frogs. But how do you keep the frogs on the spoon? They hop, they leap, they hide . . . and they escape. What is a poor witch to do? Casey Lyall is a master of comedic timing with her deceptively simple and energetic text, and Caldecott Honor winnerVera Brosgol’s vibrant, hilarious illustrations make the witch—and the frogs!—practically leap off the page. The solution to the witch’s dilemma will surprise and delight young readers and their parents alike. Teeming with laugher and hijinks, A Spoonful of Frogs is pure fun from beginning to end. A must-have for young readers, parents, witches, frog-lovers, and aspiring chefs.

30 review for A Spoonful of Frogs

  1. 4 out of 5

    Stephanie

    This is the most hilarious picturebook I've read in a really long time, and I laughed so much as I read it! I wish it had been out when my kids were younger - as it is, I really recommend it to parents of young kids, because it's the kind of book I genuinely wouldn't have minded reading over and over (AND OVER) again - it's just so clever and so funny! This is the most hilarious picturebook I've read in a really long time, and I laughed so much as I read it! I wish it had been out when my kids were younger - as it is, I really recommend it to parents of young kids, because it's the kind of book I genuinely wouldn't have minded reading over and over (AND OVER) again - it's just so clever and so funny!

  2. 4 out of 5

    Abby Johnson

    Cute book that could be used for Halloween, but does not mention Halloween. This would be a cute addition to a spooky storytime or a cooking storytime.

  3. 4 out of 5

    Candice M (tinylibrarian)

    Super cute!!!

  4. 5 out of 5

    Theo

    This will be an adorable book to read when Halloween comes around. Perfect for a storytime if you don’t mind doing voices!

  5. 5 out of 5

    Janet

    What do you do when your recipe calls for an ingredient that refuses to cooperate? A Spoonful of Frogs is an entertaining response to that question. Such a fun read!! Kids will giggle as they read this hilarious picture book (and so will the adults!). If humor is your jam (and it IS mine), you don't want to miss this one. The art is the perfect addition to the words, bringing the text alive. And I love that the cover jacket hides a surprise. I highly highly recommend this one. If I could give it What do you do when your recipe calls for an ingredient that refuses to cooperate? A Spoonful of Frogs is an entertaining response to that question. Such a fun read!! Kids will giggle as they read this hilarious picture book (and so will the adults!). If humor is your jam (and it IS mine), you don't want to miss this one. The art is the perfect addition to the words, bringing the text alive. And I love that the cover jacket hides a surprise. I highly highly recommend this one. If I could give it more than 5 stars, I would.

  6. 4 out of 5

    B.C. Spines

    This book is very funny to me. A witch, who apparently hosts her own cooking show, is instructing viewers how to make frog soup. Once she gets to the frogs... Things sort of don't go to plan. The repetition of her struggling to get the frogs in the pot is simple, hilarious genius. I can't wait to read this one for storytime this October. The kids are going to love it! This book is very funny to me. A witch, who apparently hosts her own cooking show, is instructing viewers how to make frog soup. Once she gets to the frogs... Things sort of don't go to plan. The repetition of her struggling to get the frogs in the pot is simple, hilarious genius. I can't wait to read this one for storytime this October. The kids are going to love it!

  7. 5 out of 5

    Alexis Larkin

    Loved this wickedly hilarious picture book about an epic battle between a witch trying to make frog soup and the frogs who refuse to get in it. We laughed harder and harder as she tried more outlandish strategies to catch them. Will definitely be reading this again for Halloween and hope we see more from this wonderful author and illustrator collaboration! Highly recommend!!

  8. 5 out of 5

    Ann

    ARCQuest: Book 3 A super funny read with wonderful illustrations. I will definitely be adding this to my picture book collection when it releases. Also where can I catch the rest of our witchy host’s cooking show?? (That’s code for: WE NEED A SEQUEL!)

  9. 5 out of 5

    Miriam

    the story line and the illustrations are a perfect complement! a friendly-looking witch is attempting to capture the main ingredient of her frog soup. the author uses lots of colorful verbs to describe the action and the illustrations are a perfect accompaniment.

  10. 4 out of 5

    Brian

    Put. The frogs. On. The spoon! This comical take on a cooking show gone awry will have children laughing along the way. I can’t wait to read this with my students, and use it as a humorous companion to the procedural writing they do in class.

  11. 4 out of 5

    Jessica

    Funny and original, but the joke ran a little too long for me.

  12. 4 out of 5

    Miranda

    Highly recommended by two of my friends! This was so super cute and the illustrations are beautiful (also the witch is snatched ngl)

  13. 5 out of 5

    Raven Andrus

    I love this witch's determination. I love this witch's determination.

  14. 5 out of 5

    Earl

    Hilarious. Fun read-aloud for fans of cooking shows. If Julia Child was a witch and one of her ingredients was out of control.

  15. 4 out of 5

    Cecilia Rodriguez

    While filming an episode for a cooking show , a witch(the hostess) of the program has trouble with one of her ingredients. Vera Brosgol’s color illustrations add to the humor of the story.

  16. 5 out of 5

    Meg

    I hope the entire library can hear how much I'm giggling at this book right now I hope the entire library can hear how much I'm giggling at this book right now

  17. 4 out of 5

    Rana

    So simple but a hopping good story!

  18. 4 out of 5

    Grg

    Needed more frogs. Like two spoonfuls.

  19. 4 out of 5

    Sam

    Instead of Schitt's Creek's "fold in the cheese" you simply "put the frogs on the spoon" :) Super cute; love the art! Instead of Schitt's Creek's "fold in the cheese" you simply "put the frogs on the spoon" :) Super cute; love the art!

  20. 5 out of 5

    Edward Sullivan

    A witch's plan to make frog soup is hilariously thwarted by the uncooperative main ingredients. A witch's plan to make frog soup is hilariously thwarted by the uncooperative main ingredients.

  21. 4 out of 5

    Pam

    A witchy cook show host is re-creating the recipe for Frog soup but when it comes time to add a spoonful of frogs, the frogs have a different idea.

  22. 5 out of 5

    Jaime

    Theme: witch’s brew, cooking, frogs

  23. 5 out of 5

    Emma

    Delightful! Even the endpapers are perfection.

  24. 5 out of 5

    brittany

    So relatable

  25. 5 out of 5

    Gloria

  26. 5 out of 5

    Amie

  27. 5 out of 5

    Spencer

  28. 5 out of 5

    Amy

  29. 4 out of 5

    Annese

  30. 4 out of 5

    Cyd

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading...
We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.